Christmas Downtime

Did 2.75 miles on the treadmill at the YMCA on Saturday after five days of zero running. Right calf has some minor pain due to what I think is a muscle strain. Calf was in pain after this so I took Sunday off.  I did 1.8 miles yesterday.  The reservoir was frozen and I saw people out there so I put on Yaktracks and ran on the ice.  There was some open water in the far side by the island but good coverage in the lower part of the lake.  I didn’t like being near the open water so I went into the woods and just went home from there.  Feeling tired for some reason and with my calf hurting just a little I finished this run in 20 minutes.  I stretched out fairly well after – focusing on abduction flexibility to the side and hip flexor range of motion up and down.  Its raining and windy today so I’ll take this day as an easy one as well.  I want to do some backcountry skiing soon, like Friday and the weekend and I don’t want to ruin it.  A storm is brewing so I’m thinking of heading up to Cardigan or Greylock if we don’t go away.   Maybe just Watatic if I don’t have the time.  No matter what I’m planning on getting some turns in.  Hopefully I’ll have some pictures to post and a good trail report.

Leave a Reply

